Failure to Provide for a Child: California Penal Code Section 270 makes it illegal for a parent to withhold care, food, shelter, medical services, or other remedial care from a child without a lawful excuse. A prosecutor must prove that the withholding was willfully done by the parent.
Failure to provide for a child is a misdemeanor and if you are convicted you face up to 1 year in county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Willful Desertion of a Child: California Penal Code Section 271 makes it illegal to willfully desert a child. This occurs when any parent of any child under the age of 14 years, or every person to whom any such child has been confided for nurture, or education, deserts the child with the intent to abandon them.
If you are convicted of willfully deserting a child, you face up to 1 year in either California state prison or county jail, as well as a $1,000 fine.
Let Us Help You
If you are facing child neglect or abandonment charges, it is essential that you have skilled representation. An experienced, diligent, and aggressive criminal law attorney can help you achieve a favorable result in your case.
At The Law Offices of Grant Bettencourt, we will use our expertise to exhaust every possible defense in our effort to obtain a favorable result in your case. Call The Law Offices of Grant Bettencourt for a consultation today.